St. James Parish – Ferndale
St. James Parish was established in October 1919 by Bishop Michael James Gallagher.
Our Lady of Fatima –
Our Past, Present and Future
Cardinal Mooney appointed Rev. Parzych – “Fr. George” – to be the founding Pastor on June 15, 1950. Fr. George and many dedicated people worked with great efforts to build our faith community.
With about 200 families Masses were originally held at the little wooden Clinton School House. Fr. George worked out of his Army trunk where he kept the articles used for Sunday liturgies. The first parish building, built in 1950, was the rectory (the former convent).
In 1954 the Sisters of St. Joseph from Garfield Heights, Ohio arrived to teach our youth in the grade school. These loyal group of Sisters along with lay teachers instructed our youth for almost 20 years.
Tragedy struck on February 17, 1956 when a fire gutted the two story church building. Under Fr. Parzych’s leadership plans for the present church were initiated. On Christmas Eve 1957 we celebrated the first Mass in the present church. The current rectory was constructed in 1962.
Msgr. John Bradley loyally served us from 1968 until his untimely death in 1971. After Msgr. Bradley’s tragic passing we were blessed with the arrival of Fr. Tom Flynn and Fr. Paul Chateau who became our Co-Pastors in 1972. Since 1977 Fr. Paul has been Pastor of our loving family and faith community. Throughout our history and presently we have had many faith filled priests, sisters and lay leaders who have guided us on our journey to Christ. They include Fr. William Smith, Fr. William Davidson, Fr. Richard Bonin, Fr. Joseph Ferens, Fr. Michael Donovan and Sr. Jane Zoltec.
In July 2012 we were clustered with St. James in Ferndale. Both parish families have a rich history. Under Fr. Paul’s leadership and with a clear vision we are becoming one Faith Community.